Cheap & Cheaper

October 13, 2007 at 11:15 p10 (General Chatter)

Just got myself a Acer Extensa 4620 notebook with the XP Pro OS Window. Price S$1498 but i got $58 discount after paying with cash. So far, none of my two notebooks last longer than 18 months without major breakdown like motherboard problem, hence i paid for a 2-year service warranty just in case, for another $199. The rest of the money go to Mafia Bill for the homeoffice software. Short of making coffee in the morning, this gizmo comes with all the latest bell & whistles like wifi, bluetooth, webcam, dvd player/burner etc.

I am extremely happy with the price and the performance of this machine. But i wonder how long and low computer price will go? I bought my last machine, a Toshiba satellite at S$2580 with home office & 1 year warranty two years ago. In two years, the price has gone down by 20%. Unless technology has improved so much over the last 24 months, i cant help but feel that somehow, somewhere some poor workers or suppliers in Taiwan or China got suckered. The margin must be so low that giants like IBM sold away their PC dept lock stock and barrel to what is known as Lenovo today.

My notebook is “cheap” relatively and i am sure its birth place is in China. Amidst the latest global outcry on inferior china-made product, i am not concern. Lead poisoning? Give me a break. I consume supposedly produced-in-China lead-laden century egg every morning. But hei, i still dont turn green when i am angry! 

This wifi function that come with the notebook really open up my “social” circle in my block. I see a lot of my neighbours in the wifi network. Unfortunately, these are just faceless names. How nice if there are identifiable? I would sure like to get to know the “Amanda” and “Belinda” that i “see” in my network. Maybe Mark of Facebook can work something up like linking up all friendly neighbours in the same block or precinct using the existing wifi network. Until then, i will just try to pin the “Amanda and Belinda” to the faces i that i meet in the lift on a daily basis.

I dread to work in an industry where the price of the products i made drop 20% every two years but as a consumer, i am delighted. Cheap & cheaper seems to be the mantra of business everywhere. The general consumers may benefit but the suppliers and business owners may suffer to bring us these cheap prices. I am sure there is a balance somewhere as dictated by market forces. Maybe sometime something is best not left to market forces…. and no more cheap computers?

I am confused…..

4 Comments

  1. Maverick SM said,

    I too, just bought a new Dell Inspiron 1520. Its basic price was RM3500 and with the optional items included it cost me Rm5600. After using it for few weeks I felt I didn’t like it. On hindsight, I should have bought a Sony Viao. I am not sure whether that would be a better buy, but for the price I paid for a Dell, I just didn’t feel its value for money.\

    4f: any reason why u didnt like it? what operating system are you using, vista or xp? i stop buying dell as i found their laptop not durable and could not last more than 18 month. even after paying S$500 for an extension of the warranty, the same problem came back after 12 months.

    My first laptop was an ACER, way back in 1999. It was a fantastic machine and I used it for more than 5 years. It was Pentium II then.

    I hope you did like your ACER.

    4f: Have not used an ACER before, like i said, the current one is mo tak ting ( no equal!!) *keeping my finger crossed*

  2. wuching said,

    i got my Dell from Penang but I think the components are all from China!

    4f: another dell fan!! 🙂

  3. angel said,

    feikor, lei hou maaa???

    4f: aiyor long time no see, and sure glad to see u back!!

    My IBM Thinkpad 3 yrs liao, still good… pay more, quality better, u think? 😉

    4f: yup, durability increase with price, i was advised. but instead on buying a higher end model, i spent the money on buy warranty S$199 for two more years!!

  4. winn said,

    do u think the lappies nowadays got 2nd hand value? i see some of them selling 2nd hand lappie at rm1000 plus..1000 plus ok wat

    4f: yup but very low 2nd hand value. you are talking about 20 cents for a dollar worth. check the cpu, memory and lastly whether it comes with original software. otherwise, you may spend more upgrading it and end up better off buying a new one!!

Leave a Reply

